I can’t!

A friend of mine blessed me with a free massage today! I mean, how could I say No to that? Anyway, I was on my way to the location when I started to think about everything. Can anyone relate? It’s like all of my ideas come to me when I’m driving or taking a shower! So I’m hoping I can remember what was going through my mind earlier today.

I am on this journey of trying to find out how I can see what God has put in front of me. And I had my usual complaint: But God, I can do anything if I really want to! And then He reminded me of this verse: I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

Let me rephrase it the way I saw it in my head: I can do all things through CHRIST who STRENGTHENS me. Most of the time, we hear the verse like this: I CAN DO ALL THINGS through Christ… yada yada yada. I even have a shirt that says, in bold print: I can DO ALL THINGS. The second part of the verse seems to be more minute. But today, God reminded that this journey is not about WHAT I can do. It’s about WHO I do it THROUGH.

And honestly, if I can do all things because I’m just awesome like that, then why would I need God? This is where I need my brain to shift. And I am so thankful that God was able to reveal that to me today! I CAN’T do all things, and quite frankly, I don’t want to! I’m exhausted! I just want to do all the things that Christ has empowered me to do in order to glorify the Father and grow the Kingdom.

I am also reminded of 2 Corinthians 12:9, “But He said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”

In this next step of my journey, I’m digging up all of the achievements to undercover my weakness. This is where I am confident that God will show me that HE can do ALL things.

Leave a comment